January 13, 2015 / Press Release

Porter Wright receives Gold Standard Certification from Women In Law Empowerment Forum

Porter Wright is pleased to announce the firm has received Gold Standard Certification from the Women in Law Empowerment Forum (WILEF). WILEF’s Gold Standard Certification is the only initiative directed toward certifying and broadly publicizing eligible law firms that have integrated women into the highest leadership positions in the firm.

"Porter Wright is committed to promoting gender diversity within the firm, and this certification from WILEF shows that we have been successful in providing a platform for women leaders," said Robert J. Tannous, Porter Wright’s managing partner.

WILEF certification is a reflection of the leadership roles achieved by equity women partners in U.S. law firms. To qualify for certification, law firms with 200 or more practicing lawyers must show that women represent a meaningful percentage of not only the firm’s highest leadership positions, but also of its governance and compensation committees, and its most highly compensated partners.

"Porter Wright highly values its women lawyers because they are great lawyers and effective leaders," said Joyce Edelman, partner in Porter Wright’s Litigation Department and chair of the firm’s Women’s Initiative. "We are very proud that the firm’s demonstrated commitment to the leadership potential of its women lawyers has been recognized by WILEF."

This latest recognition follows multiple honors awarded recently to Porter Wright women lawyers, including:

  • Tracey Turnbull, a partner in Porter Wright’s Cleveland office, named honoree of "Women in Law Making a Difference" by the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association.
  • Carolyn Taggart, a partner in the firm’s Cincinnati office and a "Top 50 women attorneys in Ohio," featured in a cover story in Ohio Super Lawyers Magazine, January 2015.
  • 17 women lawyers listed in Super Lawyers® 2015; 17 women lawyers listed in Best Lawyers in America® 2015, with two – Joyce Edelman and Melanie Martin-Jones – named "Lawyer of the Year."